top of page

Hello, September


I said hello to September at midnight. I watched all the clocks in my apartment change from 11:59 pm to 12:00 am August became September with the quiet change of time. The late night became the dark early morning in a single minute. I lounged on the comfortably shabby couch in my living room while my roommate slept in her room. I heard some cars rumble down the street and a few stray strands of radio-song flutter in the quiet air. Everyone was in their places as one month became another. Strangers carried on just as I carried on. I sipped a warm teacup full of sleeplessness, petted a cat, moved my fingers through the pages of a book, and read poems under the fairy-lights. At 12:01am, September greeted me; I greeted it like an expected visit from a friend. September wiped its shoes on the doormat, poured a cup of coffee, and made itself at home. It took off its shoes and put on a pair of warm, dry socks. They're knee-highs and were decorated with birds and trees. The apartment is drafty, so it put on a loose knitted sweater. September had a few things in its suitcase: the same old things that it brings every year. Crisp, golden mornings. Cool breezes that brush against a robin's-egg-sky. Maroon and rust colored leaves. Apples. Cinnamon and spices. Chilled fingers wrapping around and hot cup of coffee. Weather that's warm enough to wear a dress and cool enough to wear boots. The last bits of summer blending into fall. Ah, yes. September greeted me like a dear old friend.

Hello, September. Hello.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

The Fox's Journal

A blog by Alyssa Dearborn
bottom of page